What States Did Not Accept Obamacare?

What States Did Not Accept Obamacare?

What States Did Not Accept Obamacare?

On March 23, 2010, the Affordable Care Act was officially enacted. The law’s extension of Medicaid to include additional low-income individuals was an important part. Nonetheless, the Supreme Court decided in 2012 that states have the authority to decide whether or not to extend their Medicaid programs. There was a rift over this issue; some states decided to accept Medicaid expansion while others declined.

Certain states have made Medicaid more inclusive, covering everyone with a family income below a certain limit. Not everyone has. A portion of your eligibility for Medicaid coverage is determined by whether your state has made the program more expansive.

  • Medicaid eligibility varies by state and is determined by several variables, including family status, income, household size, and disability. States have different eligibility requirements.
  • You may be eligible for Medicaid in states where the program has been expanded just by your income. You meet the requirements if your household income is less than 133% of the federal poverty threshold. (This comes out to be 138% of the national poverty line due to the method used to compute it. Different income limits apply in a few states.)

States That Accept Obamacare

“Accept Obamacare” usually means that a state has extended Medicaid by the terms of the Affordable Care Act (ACA), also referred to as “Obamacare.” The Affordable Care Act (ACA) seeks to improve healthcare coverage for the American people, partly by allowing more low-income persons to qualify for Medicaid. Below are the states that accept Obamacare

  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  •  West Virginia
  •  Missouri
  •  Maine
  •  Maryland
  •  Massachusetts
  •  Michigan
  •  Minnesota
  • Montana
  •  Alaska
  •  Arizona
  • Arkansas
  •  California
  •  Colorado
  • Connecticut
  •  Oregon
  •  Pennsylvania
  •  Rhode Island
  •  Utah
  • Illinois
  •  Indiana
  •  Iowa
  •  Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  •  Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Hawaii
  •  Idaho
  • New Mexico
  •  New York
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Nebraska
  •  Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  •  New Jersey

States that do not accept Obamacare

According to Obamacare, the following counties have not expanded Medicaid:

  •  Texas
  •  Wisconsin
  •  Wyoming
  •  Alabama
  •  Florida
  •  Georgia
  •  South Carolina
  •  South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Kansas
  •  Mississippi
  •  North Carolina

Why did those states decide not to expand Medicaid?

There has long been competitive disagreement about the Medicaid expansion granted in the historic Affordable Care Act statute signed by former President Obama. Obama and Democrats defended the bill as a positive start toward reducing healthcare costs and achieving universal health coverage. Republicans, meanwhile, contend that it is an overreach of the federal government into the free sector, driving up rates and risking the standard of coverage.

What are the prerequisites for Obamacare eligibility?

Obamacare is available to you if you:

  • Are not covered by Medicare
  • Live in the U.S.
  • Are not incarcerated
  • Are you a U.S. citizen, or U.S. national, or are lawfully present in the U.S.?

Who is not qualified to receive Obamacare?

Under Obamacare, the majority of Americans are qualified for health insurance. There are certain exceptions, though. Obamacare is not available to you if:

  • You are covered by Medicare.
  • You are incarcerated.
  • You are not a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or lawfully present in the U.S.
  • You do not live in the U.S.

How to apply for the Affordable Care Act

  • Enroll online through Healthcare.gov.
  • To find regional, in-person help with a counselor as well as an agent or broker, use the Seek Local Help feature. They are all qualified to guide you through the marketplace procedure, and there is no charge for their services.
  • Apply via a certified registration partner’s website, like the website of a private health insurance provider.
  • Call 800-318-2596 to enroll over the phone with the Marketplace Call Center. This line offers service in English and other languages and is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, barring holidays.
  • Fill out an application and mail it in.

While many states hailed the extension, plenty of them rejected it for political, economic, or other reasons. This has resulted in continuous discussions regarding healthcare affordability and accessibility across the country. Kindly express any queries you may have in the comments section below regarding this content.


Scroll to Top